Print Friendly, PDF & Email

14th Malaysian General Election

General Elections have always been one of the most anticipated events among Malaysians. It is the time when we Malaysians exercise our democratic right to vote, granted under Article 119 of the Federal Constitution of Malaysia.

Malaysia, a constitutional monarchy and bicameral parliamentary democracy of Federal and State levels carries out its General Election every 5 years. Voters will elect the 222-member House of Representatives (i.e Dewan Rakyat which is the lower house of the Parliament of Malaysia) of the bicameral Parliament and the party or coalition that constitutes the majority of the elected members of the House of Representatives will form the Federal Government.

The 14th Malaysian General Election was held on 9 May 2018. Historically, the coalition Barisan Nasional has always been the champion in the General Elections, since Malaysia’s independence in 1957.

The 14th Malaysian General Election witnessed the emergence of a new coalition contender under the banner of Pakatan Harapan (alliance of hope), led by Yang Amat Berhormat Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who previously served as the 4th Prime Minister of Malaysia from 1981 to 2003.

Statistically, the 14th Malaysian General Election witnessed a turnout of 12, 999, 514 citizens (82.32% of the Malaysian population) voting for 222 seats in the Dewan Rakyat and 505 seats in 12 out of the 13 State Legislative Assemblies of Malaysia.

The coalition Pakatan Harapan (along with an allied party in Sabah), having netted 121 seats and surpassing the 112 threshold needed to form the next Federal Government, were declared victorious.

This is the first regime change in Malaysia’s history as the newly formed Pakatan Harapan, opposition coalition constituted the present Federal Government. Yang Amat Berhormat Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad was sworn-in as Malaysia’s 7th Prime Minister, administered by Malaysia’s constitutional monarch, Sultan Muhammad V.

Yang Amat Berhormat Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad is now the world’s oldest Prime Minister. The nation witnessed a smooth transition of power from the old regime to the new one. The election also results in the nation having its 1st female Deputy Prime Minister in history, namely Yang Amat Berhormat Dato’ Seri Dr. Wan Azizah binti Dr. Wan Ismail.

We take this opportunity to congratulate Yang Amat Berhormat Tun on his win at the 14th Malaysian General Election and for being sworn-in as the Prime Minister of Malaysia. We believe that Yang Amat Berhormat Tun at the helm of the country will continue representing the interest of the people of Malaysia and foster another era of spectacular transformation of Malaysia.

We are also hopeful that the opposition parties and coalitions will continue serving the nation with the spirit of patriotism and democracy and continue to be a responsible opposition. Under Yang Amat Berhormat Tun’s leadership, we wish that our nation will continue to scale greater heights and achieve greater prosperity.